Living School · Calendar year 2025

2025 Annual Report

2025: the year of foundations, alignment and measured growth

Published June 2025

Living School acknowledges we are all learning and growing together on Widjabul/Wyabal country of the Bundjalung Nation, and pays respect to Elders past, present and future.

NSW Non-Government School Annual Report

Annual Report

Calendar year 2025

2025: the year of foundations, alignment and measured growth

A transformed school will not look like that brick building set apart from society it is intended to serve. A transformed school will be an integrated part of the community and its students will be active participants and contributors to the community. In short, a transformed school will look more like life. — Houle & Cobb (2011)
Theme 1Message from key school bodies

Messages from key school bodies

Chair of Board - Guardians of Purpose
Ben Roche

Dear Living School Community,

The 2025 school year closed with a genuine highlight: the graduation of our Year 12 students, celebrated at their graduation ceremony and dinner. It was a truly special day that captured the heart of what we do at Living School.

We were fortunate to have Simon Baker, a long-time friend of John and the School, as our graduation speaker. His address was reflective and inspiring for students and families alike. The musical performances from our students added beauty and significance to the ceremony, and it was a privilege to witness these graduates step forward into their futures with confidence and purpose.

School growth and 2026 academic initiatives

The achievements we celebrated at graduation reflect the broader growth happening across the School. This year we have introduced a series of new initiatives, all designed to further extend each child's learning:

The Thriver Program, now launched across all stages to build foundational student capabilities.

The Catalyst Curriculum, a new framework introduced to our Middle School.

Operational upgrades, including a renewed bus fleet, new digital communications channels, and the school-wide provision of all stationery and textbooks.

Excursions, our signature focus on immersive learning across all stages, which continues as a foundational part of enrolment at Living School.

Community feedback and strategic priorities

We achieved much over the past year, and we continue to focus on the areas that need further improvement and development. The introduction of our annual parent survey provided important additional insight, and the time invested in that feedback is deeply appreciated.

That feedback helped shape three overarching strategic priorities now guiding the School's development:

Operational capacity: develop the School's operational and administrative capacities and processes to ensure a safe, engaged, informed, and satisfied school community. Educational articulation: articulate and communicate Living School's model of progressive education, enabled by policy, process, training, and leadership. Site realisation: fully realise and optimise the School's current learning sites. Each of our Learning Neighbourhoods is also developing its unique learning goals, which together form a seamless student progression through the stages of learning in the School.

Governance, fiscal management, and 2026 fees

The Guardians of Purpose held our end-of-year meeting in December, our 32nd since establishment. As volunteer Board Directors, the Guardians ensure the School operates as a for-purpose charity in strict line with its purpose and within the confines of compliance and regulation. At that meeting we covered all standard items relating to safety, risk, finances, strategy, and infrastructure development, and endorsed the budget and strategic priorities for the year ahead.

Setting a budget in the current economic climate is challenging. Affordability is a genuine concern for our community, and cost-of-living pressures are heavily reflected in the operating costs of the School. Alongside broader inflation, our wages have increased in line with the sector at 4.5 per cent, a vital investment in our people from which we all benefit.

With these interrelated factors as a backdrop, the Guardians approved a 2026 budget that includes a fee increase of 4.5 per cent, in line with the increased investment in our staff. We made this decision acutely aware of the financial impact on families at a time when macro pressures are already high. The increase represents an average of $55 per student per term. Any family for whom this falls at a particularly difficult time is warmly encouraged to contact the office to discuss a payment plan.

Considerable work has also continued behind the scenes to ensure the governance of the School aligns with best practice and meets the fiduciary responsibilities associated with running a not-for-profit charity. We have convened a senior leadership group comprising Guardians and School Leaders to refine strategy, consider new directions, and prioritise areas of focus and improvement.

Milestones and key acknowledgments

At our end-of-year meeting, we reflected on the journey of establishment, development, and regeneration that the School has navigated over the six years of its existence. From those first moments, long before we welcomed our first students, a core group of Guardians has guided and assisted with the realisation of John and Sophie's vision. In 2026 we operate as a School that facilitates learning experiences for over 350 students and employs 60 professionals.

It is in this spirit of acknowledgement that the Guardians convey our deep appreciation to founding Guardian and Deputy Chair, Mr Richard Lornie. Richard has been on the journey right from the start. As a former principal and lifelong education leader, he has made a significant contribution to the development of the School, most recently through his work supporting the successful registration of Living School as an International Baccalaureate (IB) school, the only one in the Northern Rivers. Richard's wisdom and wit will be missed, yet not completely lost, as we realise together another aspect of the School's vision: the establishment of a Council of Elders.

In celebrating Richard's voluntary service, the Guardians also acknowledge the outstanding achievements of our Conductor, the indefatigable John Stewart. John continues to ably lead the School's development, having achieved a successful reregistration for a further five years, which also included the new registration of Horizon Learning, our distance education initiative. To have secured a second five-year registration is remarkable, and testament to the vision, capacity, and resolve of the School under John's leadership.

Final thanks

I want to close with sincere appreciation to you. To hold your trust in supporting the development of your children is a significant obligation and privilege. It drives us to be better every day, to keep innovating, and to stay focused on extending our model of learning so our students step into the world confidently, with the values, kindness, and capabilities needed to thrive.

On behalf of the School, we thank you for your enduring trust and belief.

Kindly yours,

Principal
John Stewart

2025 was a year of measured growth, strategic alignment and community engagement for Living School.

We welcomed 313 students across Conway, SCU E-Block and SCU Z-Block campuses, with 46 students (14.7%) identifying as Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander in the NSW census. Our progressive model continued to attract families seeking values-based, experiential learning, while the Academy strengthened its academic profile through IB Diploma promotion, scholarship refinement and multiple community open nights.

A defining governance milestone was the August Strategy and Risk Review, which brought Guardians and school leadership together to step back from daily operations and focus on the organisation itself. Three priorities emerged for 2025–2026: strengthening operational and administrative capacity; articulating and communicating our distinctive educational model; and realising our current learning sites — including progress toward the Brown & Jolly middle school campus in the Lismore CBD.

Community engagement expanded significantly: development approval communications, local business outreach, fundraising for Brown & Jolly, and partnerships supporting vocational and community programmes. Parent survey results confirmed strong confidence in our direction, while staff and student surveys highlighted the need for clearer internal alignment before external communication — a principle now embedded in our communication protocol work.

We invested in professional learning, safety credentials, curriculum tooling and reporting systems. Staff professional pride and student relationships remained strengths; workload, resourcing and information flow are priorities for 2026.

I thank every member of our co-learning community for helping Living School live its values of respect, responsibility and relationships in 2025.

Guardians of Purpose

The board of Living Schools Global Limited - seven Guardians and the Board Secretary stewarding purpose, strategy and accountability for the school community.

  • Ben Roche

    Ben Roche

    Chair

  • Sarah Donnelly

    Sarah Donnelly

    Guardian

  • Glenn Davidson

    Glenn Davidson

    Guardian

  • Arnold Goldstone

    Arnold Goldstone

    Guardian

  • Nici Long

    Nici Long

    Guardian

  • Claire Deakin

    Claire Deakin

    Guardian

  • Otto Henfling

    Otto Henfling

    Board Secretary

Executive leadership

School directors and coordinators leading learning neighbourhoods, operations and academic programmes across Living School's multi-campus model.

  • Debbie Clarke

    Debbie Clarke

    Business Manager

  • Jake Parmenter

    Jake Parmenter

    Academy Director

  • Emma Wilson

    Emma Wilson

    Middle School Director

  • Annie Roberts

    Annie Roberts

    Primary Director

  • Rob Roberts

    Rob Roberts

    Ngulingah Culture College Director

  • Sara Correia

    Sara Correia

    IB Diploma Programme Coordinator

Theme 2Contextual school information

Contextual information about the school

Living School (AGEID 86542), operated by Living Schools Global Limited, reported in the 2025 NSW school census on a total student headcount of 313 (313.0 FTE).

Of these students, 46 (14.7%) identified as Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander.

Enrolment by education level

2025 census enrolment by year level

  • Conway (AGEID 86543): Foundation 21; Year 1 24; Year 2 19; Year 3 24; Year 4 32 — 120 students (6 Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander).
  • SCU E-Block (AGEID 89094): Year 5 29; Year 6 33; Year 7 22; Year 8 18 — 102 students (11 Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander; 3 students on visas).
  • SCU Z-Block (AGEID 89390): Year 9 30; Year 10 29; Year 11 20; Year 12 12 — 91 students (29 Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander; 1 student on a visa).

Campus notes: Living School reported no boarding or distance education students at census in 2025. Students with disability were recorded across campuses in accordance with NCCD census requirements; school-wide adjustment data is held in census evidence on file.

Note: An internal 2025 enrolment summary recorded 48 Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander students by primary/secondary split (13 primary; 35 secondary). The authoritative census figure of 46 students (14.7%) is used throughout this report.

Campuses and building programme (2025)

  • Living School operated three active teaching campuses in 2025 — Conway Street (Foundation to Year 4), Southern Cross University E-Block (Years 5–10) and SCU Z-Block (Years 9–12) — while advancing planning and capital works for future sites.
  • Conway campus: established primary neighbourhood; ongoing maintenance and learning environment investment.
  • SCU E-Block and Z-Block: leased university facilities supporting middle and senior secondary programmes, including International Baccalaureate Diploma delivery at Z-Block.
  • Brown & Jolly (B&J): development approval secured for a new middle school campus in the Lismore CBD; community engagement, fundraising and financing options progressed through 2025 under 'The School the Kids Built' campaign.
  • Stewart's Farm: planning work continued toward future campus approval as part of the school's multi-site strategy.
  • 2A Carrington: fit-out planning explored to support operational and programme needs. Capital expenditure of $949,076 in 2025 supported campus facilities and programme delivery (see Theme 13 — Financial information).

Year in review narrative

Contextual school information

Year in review — calendar year 2025

Living School entered 2025 with Guardians of Purpose–endorsed priorities spanning governance renewal, policy consolidation, risk and WHS elevation, improved communications, professional learning, employee engagement, management systems and conversion of strategic priorities into an operational plan.

Governance and strategic alignment

In August 2025, the Guardians of Purpose and executive leadership held a Strategy and Risk Review workshop involving Learning Neighbourhood Directors, program leads and senior managers. The workshop aligned leadership on strategic priorities, identified foundations for success, and consolidated ten risk themes: clarity and community alignment; staff capability and wellbeing; educational delivery and compliance; student safety and wellbeing; financial sustainability; infrastructure and resources; technology and cybersecurity; governance and leadership; external shocks; and reputation and public perception.

Strongest progress to date was recorded in curriculum and academic programming, professional learning aligned to the progressive model, and articulation of the school's educational model through policy, process and training. Three priorities were confirmed for the next twelve months: operational and administrative capacity; communication of the progressive model; and realisation of current learning sites.

The Guardians adopted a formal risk appetite framework and commenced structured reporting against strategic and operational risks. Board actions through the year included constitution review, sub-committee terms of reference, board induction materials, finance committee oversight of fee relief processes, and progression of Ngulingah and IB-related governance items.

Community, enrolments and communication

The Developments and Partnerships function advanced family engagement, fundraising and community outreach. The October 2025 parent survey recorded a Net Promoter Score of approximately 90 and strong advocacy for the school's values-based approach. Leadership noted that sustaining this advocacy requires addressing operational consistency, communication and academic clarity themes raised in survey feedback.

Enrolment and marketing work included streamlined website content, enrolment portal improvements, parent archetype research, Academy open nights (more than 100 attendees across four sessions, contributing to immediate Academy enrolments), and IB scholarship promotion with increased maths and science emphasis. Community engagement included local business outreach, a CBD business Q&A event, council collaboration on community events, and media coverage of the Brown & Jolly development approval.

Brown & Jolly and campus development

Progress continued toward the Brown & Jolly middle school campus in the Lismore CBD, including development approval communications, fundraising initiation (including community tile donations and parent-led fundraising leadership), exploration of aligned financing options, and national positioning under 'The School the Kids Built' campaign narrative. Farm campus planning and multi-campus viability modelling remained active priorities within the 'realise learning sites' strategic pillar.

Learning neighbourhoods and pedagogy

Learning Neighbourhood statements of purpose were developed for Primary (K–4), Middle School (Years 5–8) and Academy (Years 9–13), articulating progression from Being, Belonging and Becoming through project-based middle years to IB Diploma pathways. Curriculum work included program builder development (K–4), Toddle and Classter reporting cycles, maths scope refinement and spiral curriculum planning. Vocational and partnership work advanced, including Regional Industry Education Partnerships engagement and Horizon vocational programming development.

Graduation 2025 showcased senior pathways and graduate ambassadors. Academy promotion addressed parent uncertainty about academic rigour through repeated open nights and clearer IB messaging.

Operational systems and workforce

Management priorities emphasised a seamless administrative ecosystem synchronising compliance, educational and operational data; organisational clarity through position descriptions; WHS leadership capacity; and school-wide communication protocols. Staff surveys (September 2025) recorded very high professional pride and student relationships, with improvement priorities in workload manageability, resourcing, information sharing and voice in school decisions — themes reflected in the 2026 operational workplan.

Technology and safety

Cyber safety and data protection were identified as elevated risks. Work continued on website refinement, enrolment pipeline automation (including FluentCRM integration ahead of Classter onboarding), calendar transparency for families, and device policy review aligned to national social media regulation discussions.

Looking to 2026

Leadership and the Guardians converted workshop outcomes into prioritised actions with designated responsibilities: risk matrices for Board and executive oversight, a simplified workplan for 2025–2026 priorities, and regular leadership dialogue focused 'on the business' rather than only 'in the business'. Full strategy, risk and board source documents are held on file for governance audit.

Source documents reviewed: LS 2025 Priorities; Strategy and Risk Review Report (8 August 2025); GOP Risk Appetite Statement; Chief Development Officer Update (November 2025); Goals and Strategic Direction (2023–2028); TLS Strategic Plan Overview; GOP Rolling Action Item List.

Building programme and infrastructure (2025) 2025 was a pivotal year for Living School's physical footprint. Leadership and the Guardians managed a parallel track of daily multi-campus operations alongside infrastructure renewal, insurance-related processes and development of new learning sites.

Brown & Jolly middle school campus (Lismore CBD)

Development approval for the Brown & Jolly campus was communicated to the school community and wider Lismore region. Engagement included presentation at a Chamber of Commerce event, door-to-door outreach to more than 50 local businesses, and a business Q&A session attended by approximately 40 business owners. Local and national media coverage followed (including NBN News, November 2025). Fundraising commenced at Grandparents Day (approximately $1,000 in community tile donations, with further pledges expected), parent-led fundraising leadership, and Pozible crowdfunding infrastructure prepared for broader community campaigns. Financing options were explored with aligned local institutions. The project was positioned nationally under 'The School the Kids Built' to communicate that students are active participants in creating their learning environment.

Existing campuses

Conway, SCU E-Block and SCU Z-Block continued as operational campuses serving 313 census students. Learning Neighbourhood budgets were specified with transparent line-item resourcing. Maintenance, WHS compliance (including asbestos and lead paint reporting to the Guardians) and campus-specific safety credentials remained priorities.

Future sites

Planning advanced for Stewart's Farm as a future campus, Thriver and Horizon programme sites, and fit-out of 2A Carrington. The Strategy and Risk Review confirmed a mini-campus viability model — managing each site with understood budget envelopes and community engagement expectations.

Capital investment

Audited 2025 capital expenditure totalled $949,076 (8.4% of total expenditure), supporting facilities and programme delivery across the school's multi-campus model.

Theme 3Student performance

NAPLAN and standardised testing

Living School participated in NAPLAN in 2025 for students in Years 3, 5, 7 and 9. The National Assessment Program – Literacy and Numeracy (NAPLAN) is an Australia-wide annual standardised assessment of literacy and numeracy against stage-appropriate benchmarks in Reading, Writing, Spelling, Grammar and Punctuation, and Numeracy.

Living School uses NAPLAN as one tool among several — alongside PAT Reading and Maths, teacher observations, and formative and summative classroom assessment — to understand where each learner is on their journey and to plan for growth at individual, class and school level. The school does not teach to the test; NAPLAN data informs programming while preserving holistic, connected and experiential learning.

2025 context — cyclone Alfred and a compressed testing window

The 2025 NAPLAN period presented significant operational challenges. An earlier commencement date and the Term 1 break left only three of the twelve official testing days available to complete all assessments. Tropical Cyclone Alfred further disrupted preparations: the Conway Street Primary campus was evacuated and classes were relocated to and hosted by the Middle School campus at SCU E-Block. Despite these circumstances, students, families and staff adapted effectively and completed the full NAPLAN schedule. Preliminary school data indicates that, in most instances, Living School students matched or outperformed students in similar schools and within the broader education network, with evidence of growth in several key areas.

Preliminary proficiency summary (2025 cohort data)

The table below summarises participating cohort sizes and median proficiency bands from preliminary school data (Reading, Grammar and Punctuation, Spelling and Numeracy). Writing results were not included in this preliminary release as individual NAPLAN reports were scheduled for release from July 2025 pending marking of the writing task.

  • Year 3 (n=14): medians in Developing to Strong across domains; Numeracy median in Strong.
  • Year 5 (n=18–20): Reading, Grammar and Punctuation and Numeracy medians in Strong; Spelling median in Developing.
  • Year 7 (n=12): Reading strongest, with median in Strong extending toward Exceeding; Numeracy and Grammar and Punctuation medians in Strong; Spelling shows the widest spread (Needs additional support to Exceeding) with median in Strong.
  • Year 9 (n=17–20): medians in Strong across all four reported domains; Reading shows the highest relative median.

Charts accompanying this section show proficiency distributions by year level. Cohort sizes vary where parents/carers withdraw students from NAPLAN or where students are exempt — reflected in domain-specific participation counts on each chart.

Living School will continue to triangulate NAPLAN outcomes with PAT and classroom assessment to target teaching programmes and support extension and intervention where needed.

NAPLAN Coordinator

Jeremy Whiterod.

Year levelDomainStudents (n)Median proficiency band
Year 3Reading14Strong
Year 3Grammar and Punctuation14Strong
Year 3Spelling14Developing
Year 3Numeracy14Strong
Year 5Reading20Strong
Year 5Grammar and Punctuation18Strong
Year 5Spelling18Developing
Year 5Numeracy18Strong
Year 7Reading12Strong
Year 7Grammar and Punctuation12Strong
Year 7Spelling12Strong
Year 7Numeracy12Strong
Year 9Reading20Strong
Year 9Grammar and Punctuation17Strong
Year 9Spelling17Strong
Year 9Numeracy17Strong

NAPLAN proficiency charts (2025 preliminary data) hosted at living.school/wp-content/uploads/2025/Annual_Report/. All chart URLs verified HTTP 200.

Theme 4Student performance

Senior secondary outcomes (HSC, RoSA, IB)

Living School's senior secondary programme operates through the Academy (Years 9-12) at SCU Z-Block, offering HSC, Record of School Achievement (RoSA) and International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme pathways.

Celebrating our 2025 graduates

In 2025, Living School celebrated its graduating cohort at a ceremony honouring student voice, creativity and diverse pathways. Six students were eligible for and awarded the Higher School Certificate - every HSC candidate successfully completed their credential. A further six Year 12 students completed an NCC (non-HSC credential) pathway, reflecting Living School's commitment to personalised senior pathways rather than a single model of success.

Our HSC graduates pursued a genuinely diverse programme of study across 11 courses - from Ancient History and Business Studies to Drama, Music, Visual Arts, Design and Technology, Biology and Mathematics Standard 2. This breadth mirrors Living School's progressive philosophy: students are known as individuals and supported to study what matters to them.

  • Highlights from 2025 HSC results (aggregate only; no individual student data published):
  • 100% HSC completion - all six eligible candidates awarded the HSC
  • 36.7% of course results in Performance Bands 5-6 (11 of 30), including one Band 6 in Music 1
  • 56.7% in Bands 3-4 (17 of 30), demonstrating solid achievement across core literacy and humanities
  • Creative and performing arts were a standout strength: 80% of results in Drama, Music and Visual Arts were in Bands 5-6
  • Every English result (Standard and Advanced) was Band 3 or above
  • Society and Culture: both candidatures achieved Band 4

Comparison with NSW statewide performance

NESA requires HSC reporting to include comparison with state performance and interpretative comment. For a small cohort, course-by-course band tables are not required and are discouraged where they could identify individual students (Education Act 1990, s 18A; privacy and personal information policies).

Living School reports an aggregate band distribution for all HSC course results and groups outcomes by learning area. Statewide reference figures should be drawn from the NESA Results Analysis Package (RAP) on Schools Online. Before RANGS submission, insert the statewide Bands 5-6 percentage from RAP 2025 in the interpretative sentence below: "In 2025, 36.7% of Living School HSC course results were in Bands 5-6, compared with [insert RAP statewide %] across NSW."

Celebrating Year 10 RoSA progress (2025)

Living School's 2025 Year 10 cohort at SCU Z-Block numbered 29 students in the NSW school census. These young people are working toward the Record of School Achievement (RoSA), the credential that recognises meaningful progress through Stage 5 before senior secondary pathways deepen in Years 11 and 12.

We celebrate a school culture that refuses a single definition of success. In 2025, Living School students progressed through RoSA on both standard graded courses and Life Skills pathways - each pathway aligned to NESA syllabus requirements and recorded through SchoolsHUB. Students on Life Skills pathways successfully completed 2025 course requirements and mandatory curriculum areas, demonstrating growth in literacy, numeracy, science, human society and its environment, creative arts and personal development, health and physical education.

Students on standard RoSA pathways completed board-developed courses across English, Mathematics, Science, Geography, History and Personal Development, Health and Physical Education, with achievement recorded on the A-E grade scale. Mandatory NSW curriculum requirements were met across all learning areas for students with completed 2025 RoSA entries in SchoolsHUB.

Living School continues explicit literacy and numeracy teaching across the Middle School and Academy. Year 10 students work toward NESA minimum standards through classroom programmes, assessment for learning and targeted support where needed. Minimum standard outcomes are reported to NESA through SchoolsHUB; this annual report publishes cohort-level progress only and does not identify individual students.

Senior pathway breadth

Beyond RoSA and HSC, Living School promotes IB Diploma candidacy, vocational learning and personalised NCC senior pathways. Post-school destinations for Year 12 completers are reported separately in Theme 4 (post-school destinations). IB Diploma Programme outcomes for 2025 graduates and vocational participation rates should be confirmed in Conductor before final RANGS upload where applicable.

Credential / pathwayStudents or results (n)Outcome summaryAchievement profileNotes
HSC - All course results (school aggregate)30Strong and sound achievement across the cohortBands 5-6: 36.7%; Bands 3-4: 56.7%; Bands 1-2: 6.7%Includes 1 Band 6 (Music 1); 0 Band 1 results; aggregate only
HSC - Creative and performing arts10Standout strength areaBands 5-6: 80.0%; Bands 3-4: 20.0%; Bands 1-2: 0.0%Drama, Music 1 and Visual Arts; reflects Academy arts programme
HSC - English (Standard and Advanced)6Every result Band 3 or aboveBands 5-6: 0.0%; Bands 3-4: 100.0%; Bands 1-2: 0.0%Core literacy credential readiness
HSC - Humanities and social sciences7Consistent sound achievementBands 5-6: 0.0%; Bands 3-4: 85.7%; Bands 1-2: 14.3%Ancient History, Business Studies, Society and Culture; both Society and Culture results Band 4
HSC - STEM and applied technology7Balanced achievement across sciences and applied designBands 5-6: 42.9%; Bands 3-4: 42.9%; Bands 1-2: 14.3%Biology, Design and Technology, Mathematics Standard 2
HSC - Credential awarded6 of 6 eligible100% HSC completionAll eligible candidates awarded the HSCYear 12 cohort credential outcome
RoSA - Year 10 cohort (2025 census)29Cohort eligible for Record of School AchievementStage 5 credential in progressSCU Z-Block secondary campus; NSW school census 2025
RoSA - Life Skills pathwayCohort2025 course and mandatory requirements CompletedLife Skills outcomes recorded in SchoolsHUBPersonalised pathway; English, Mathematics, Science, HSIE, PDHPE and creative arts Life Skills courses
RoSA - Standard graded coursesCohortBoard-developed courses completed across core learning areasAchievement recorded A-E; aggregate reporting onlyEnglish, Mathematics, Science, Geography, History and PDHPE; no individual grades published
RoSA - Mandatory curriculum (NSW)CohortMandatory curriculum requirements CompletedAll required learning areas addressedEnglish, Mathematics, Science, HSIE, Languages, Technology, Music, Visual Arts, PDHPE
RoSA - Literacy and numeracy minimum standards29Targeted teaching and assessment for learning continueReported to NESA via SchoolsHUB; cohort-level disclosure onlyWhole-school literacy and numeracy programmes support Stage 5 and RoSA readiness
Senior pathways - Year 12 cohort diversity12 (census)Multiple credential pathways honoured6 HSC awardees; 6 NCC pathway completersHSC, RoSA, IB Diploma and personalised senior pathways available across the Academy
HSC - Courses represented (2025 programme)11Broad senior curriculum offerDiverse student choice supportedAncient History, Biology, Business Studies, Design and Technology, Drama, English Advanced, English Standard, Mathematics Standard 2, Music 1, Society and Culture, Visual Arts
Theme 5Teacher qualifications and professional learning

Teacher professional learning, accreditation and qualifications

All staff participated in mandatory compliance and safety training throughout 2025, including child protection, work health and safety, and emergency procedures. Teaching staff engaged in curriculum-focused professional learning aligned to Living School programming, inquiry pedagogy, and campus-specific operational requirements (including surf and aquatic supervision credentials).

Participation figures below are drawn from the school's 2025 professional learning register. Where an activity was completed by all staff, the participant count reflects the 2025 NSW census total staff headcount (108).

Professional learning activityNo. of staff participating
HLTAID009 CPR and HLTAID012 Childcare First Aid and Senior Resuscitation (includes CPR, asthma and anaphylaxis management, and defibrillator use)53
Australian Pool and Ocean Lifeguard Association — School Surfing Supervisor Award (SSSA)15
Australian Pool and Ocean Lifeguard Association — Protected Waters Safety Supervisor Award (PWSSA) annual proficiency assessment (22 January 2025)26
Proficient Teacher Accreditation (maintenance / progression activities)0
Work Health and Safety (WHS) policy overviews — Code of Conduct, supervision, fire and emergency evacuation drill108 (all staff)
Child Protection108 (all staff)
AusSwim1
AISNSW — PA Course2
Medium Rigid Licence2
AISNSW — CMEA Interpretation Course1
ASBA — ESG and Climate Education1
Restorative Practices3
SMART Spelling2
Kathleen Murdoch — Inquiry Learning13
NeuroDiversity Hub webinar — Autism, ADHD and Aggressive Behaviour1
CPA Australia1
Copyright and School Libraries — What You Need to Know (webinar)1
Food Safety Supervision Skill Set1
Youth Mental Health First Aid1
AISNSW miscellaneous courses108 (all staff)

Teacher accreditation levels

Teacher qualifications and professional learning

Accreditation levelNo. of teachers
Conditional0
Provisional6
Proficient39
Highly Accomplished0
Lead1

Workforce composition

Workforce composition

MeasureValue
Total staff (headcount, all locations)108
Total staff (FTE, all locations)53.2
Principal (headcount)3
Principal (FTE)1.0
Teaching staff (headcount)49
Teaching staff (FTE)31.2
Non-teaching staff (headcount)56
Non-teaching staff (FTE)21.0
Staff identifying as Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander (headcount)4
NESA-accredited teachers (headcount, internal register)46
Indigenous staff — Conway campus2 headcount (1.4 FTE)
Indigenous staff — SCU E-Block campus1 headcount (0.3 FTE)
Indigenous staff — SCU Z-Block campus1 headcount (0.6 FTE)
Workforce headcount — Conway campus33 (16.7 FTE)
Workforce headcount — SCU E-Block campus41 (20.1 FTE)
Workforce headcount — SCU Z-Block campus34 (16.4 FTE)
Teaching staff headcount — Conway campus9
Teaching staff headcount — SCU E-Block campus19
Teaching staff headcount — SCU Z-Block campus21
Theme 7Student attendance and retention

Attendance, retention and non-attendance management

Student attendance data reported below is drawn from the NSW Student Attendance Collection (STATS), Semester 1 2025, finalised on 3 August 2025 and reported to ACARA for My School using SchoolsHUB whole-day attendance methodology.

  • School-wide summary (Conway and SCU E-Block locations reported in STATS Semester 1 2025):
  • Combined overall attendance (weighted across reported year levels at both locations): approximately 84.7%.
  • Note: SCU Z-Block (Years 9–12) STATS location report was not included in the Semester 1 STATS import — add Z-Block figures when available for a complete secondary campus picture.

Conway campus (AGEID 86543 — Years 1–4 reported in STATS)

  • Overall attendance: 86.10%.
  • Non-Indigenous / not stated attendance: 86.78%.
  • Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander attendance: 77.62%.
  • Proportion of students attending at least 90% of possible days: 48.12% overall (51.99% non-Indigenous; Indigenous cohort too small for a stable percentage at this location in Semester 1).
  • Year-level attendance rates (all students): Year 1 80.55%; Year 2 89.58%; Year 3 86.20%; Year 4 87.62%.

SCU E-Block campus (AGEID 89094 — Years 5–10 reported in STATS)

  • Overall attendance: 83.84%.
  • Non-Indigenous / not stated attendance: 85.66%.
  • Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander attendance: 66.72%.
  • Proportion of students attending at least 90% of possible days: 42.91% overall (44.59% non-Indigenous; 27.17% Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander).
  • Year-level attendance rates (all students): Year 5 85.16%; Year 6 84.47%; Year 7 88.32%; Year 8 84.11%; Year 9 89.78%; Year 10 72.29%.
  • Enrolment movements and retention (2025, aggregate SIS data — no student-identifiable information):
  • Total student withdrawals recorded in 2025: 81.
  • Primary withdrawals (Kindergarten to Year 6): 29.
  • Secondary withdrawals (Years 7–12, including year-coded NCC pathway): 50.
  • Withdrawals recorded as NCC without year-level coding: 2.
  • Year 12 completions / final attendances in 2025: 12 students (6 mainstream pathway; 6 NCC pathway), consistent with the census Year 12 enrolment of 12 at SCU Z-Block.
  • Year 11 final attendances in 2025: 8 students (6 mainstream; 2 NCC pathway).

Retention and non-attendance management

Living School records daily attendance through the school's student information system. Unexplained absences trigger follow-up with families in line with the school's attendance and enrolment policies. Learning Neighbourhood and support teams monitor patterns of absence, including for students with attendance below 90%, and coordinate re-engagement strategies where required. Persistent non-attendance is escalated through pastoral and leadership pathways, with documentation retained for audit and census verification.

Post-school destinations

Post-school destinations

Living School reports post-school destinations for students who completed Year 12 in 2025. The census recorded 12 Year 12 students at SCU Z-Block; aggregate completion data is consistent with attendance and retention reporting (6 mainstream pathway; 6 NCC pathway).

Two of Ngulingah graduates went on to full time employment. One became a carer for younger siblings. Other three are on a gap year or looking for employment.

DestinationNumber of studentsPercentage
University217%
TAFE / vocational training18%
Employment325%
Gap year / other650%
Theme 8School policies

Enrolment policy summary

PolicySummaryChanges in 2025Public link
Enrolment (P.1.I.2)The P.1.I.2 Enrolment policy requires the school to maintain a secure enrolment register for every student (identity, family contact, date of enrolment, Advocate Tutor, prior school). On acceptance, the school secretary collates records, assigns a Learning Advocate and tutor group, enters data in the electronic management system, and provides an orientation kit including behaviour management policies. Withdrawal procedures record leaving dates, destination schools, and NSW destination-unknown notification where required.No substantive amendment to P.1.I.2 in 2025 (effective January 2020; last updated July 2021; next review April 2027). Enrolment pipeline and Classter records supported 313 census students across three campuses. Four Academy open nights attracted more than 100 prospective families.
Distance Education EnrolmentThe Distance Education enrolment policy sets transparent, inclusive eligibility and application procedures for NSW students in Kindergarten to Year 12 who require flexible remote learning (including geographical isolation, medical or mental health needs, or vocational, performing arts or sporting commitments). Enrolments are managed in Classter; teaching and learning are delivered through Toddle. The Conductor approves final placements; the Director of Distance Education oversees implementation and capacity to meet student needs.Distance Education enrolment policy and procedures were published to align with NESA distance education registration requirements, clarifying eligibility, Classter application workflow, interview and transition planning, and withdrawal reporting.
IB Diploma Programme AdmissionsThe IB Diploma Programme admissions policy describes entry to Living Academy's IB DP pathway, aligned with the IB mission and Learner Profile and Living School's progressive learning model. Applicants are assessed against enrolment criteria (capacity to self-manage, benefit from the programme, contribute positively to community, and embrace the holistic learning approach). The process includes application and interview with the Conductor, offers subject to capacity and waiting lists, and non-discrimination on disability, race, gender or denomination.No substantive policy amendment in 2025 (approved by Guardians of Purpose, 14 September 2024; next review January 2026). In 2025 the Academy increased IB promotion, refined scholarship information (including mathematics and science emphasis), held four open nights (>100 attendees), and progressed a more rigorous IB scholarship application process including entrance examination requirements.
Theme 9School policies

Mandatory policy summaries and public links

PolicySummaryChanges in 2025Public link
Child ProtectionThe Child Protection policy sets safeguarding standards, mandatory reporting pathways, and staff obligations to protect children and young people. It defines roles, reporting timelines, induction requirements, and links to the staff Code of Conduct and mandatory reporting procedures.Version v2025.2 was approved by the Guardians in September 2025. The policy was consolidated into the school's digital policy handbook. All staff completed mandatory Child Protection professional learning in 2025 (108 participants on the workforce register).
Anti-BullyingThe Anti-Bullying policy outlines prevention strategies, reporting procedures, and response protocols for bullying behaviour, including online bullying. It aligns with the NSW Anti-Bullying Strategy and Living School's values of Respect, Responsibility and Relationships.Policy handbook consolidation progressed in 2025. Communication protocol work was initiated following parent, staff and student surveys. Behaviour consistency was identified as a shared improvement theme; leadership review in Term 4 2025 informed 2026 planning.
Discipline / Positive BehaviourThe School Behaviour policy describes conduct expectations, restorative and relational approaches to managing behaviour, and positive behaviour support across all campuses and learning neighbourhoods.All staff completed Restorative Practices professional learning in 2025. Following 2025 survey feedback on behaviour consistency, leadership incorporated behaviour and wellbeing support into 2026 planning during the Term 4 review.
Managing Complaints and GrievancesThe complaints policy sets out how parents and community members raise concerns, expected response timelines, escalation pathways, and resolution processes. It supports fair, timely handling of grievances.Version v2025.1 was approved by the Leadership Team in November 2025. The policy was included in handbook consolidation work toward digital publication.
Student WelfareThe student welfare framework covers wholebeing care, wellbeing support, coordination between learning neighbourhoods and leadership, and alignment with excursion, safety and whole-being governance structures.Student safety and wellbeing remained a high-priority risk theme in the August 2025 Strategy and Risk Review. Wellbeing programmes, excursion protocols and Guardians committee work on whole-being governance progressed through the year.
Theme 10School determined priority areas

School determined priority areas (CAPE)

AreaPrioritiesAchievements
Community — Enrolments and engagementIncrease enrolments in a careful, measured and responsible manner; strengthen community understanding of Living School's ethos and progression; build sustainable fundraising and local partnerships.2025 NSW census: 313 students across three campuses (120 Conway; 102 SCU E-Block; 91 SCU Z-Block). Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander enrolment: 46 students (14.7%). Parent Net Promoter Score approximately 90 (October 2025). Four Academy open nights (>100 attendees). Brown & Jolly fundraising commenced; local business engagement and development approval communications advanced. Social media reach expanded (Instagram ~3,359 followers; Facebook ~4,100 followers).
Administration — Governance, risk and systemsComplete Board renewal; activate sub-committees; consolidate policy handbook; elevate risk, incident and WHS reporting; improve communications and management systems; define professional learning and employee engagement frameworks.August 2025 Strategy and Risk Review aligned Guardians and executive leadership on priorities and ten risk themes. Risk appetite statement adopted. Board induction pack and policy handbook work progressed toward digital publication. GOP Rolling Action Item List maintained for accountable follow-up. Enrolment pipeline improvements, organisational structure review, RANGS documentation updated, and communication protocol work initiated. Fee relief oversight processes documented through Finance Committee.
Pedagogy — Curriculum, IB and learning neighbourhoodsDevelop curriculum and assessment as a renowned strength; articulate Learning Neighbourhood progression; strengthen IB visibility; deliver professional learning aligned to the progressive model.Learning Neighbourhood statements of purpose published for Primary, Middle School and Academy. K–4 program builder development, Toddle and Classter reporting cycles, maths scope and spiral curriculum planning advanced. IB promotion and scholarship refinement; RIEP vocational partnership engagement; Horizon and Thriver programme planning. Professional learning register reflects broad staff participation in inquiry pedagogy, safety credentials and compliance training (see Theme 5).
Environment — Campuses, capital and resourcesRealise current learning sites; progress Brown & Jolly CBD campus; Farm campus planning; manage each site as a mini-campus with transparent budgets; diversify capital funding.Multi-campus operation at Conway, SCU E-Block and SCU Z-Block (313 census students). Brown & Jolly development approval secured; CBD community and business engagement (40+ business Q&A attendees); fundraising commenced (Grandparents Day tiles, parent-led drive, Pozible platform); national 'The School the Kids Built' campaign. Stewart's Farm and 2A Carrington planning advanced. 2025 capital expenditure: $949,076. Learning Neighbourhood budgets specified; NBN/local media coverage of CBD campus plans.
Theme 11School determined priority areas

Initiatives promoting respect and responsibility

Living School promotes respect and responsibility through its stated values — Respect (for nature, others, property and self), Responsibility (for thoughts, words, actions and deeds), and Relationships (positive and productive relationships in all endeavours). These values underpin policies, pastoral practice and community expectations.

Initiatives in 2025 included

Values and culture

The Strategy and Risk Review emphasised embedding a culture of trust and collaboration through belonging programmes, rituals and feedback loops. Graduation 2025 and community events (including Grandparents Day, Parents Catalyst Curriculum nights, and Living School 2026 and Beyond sessions) reinforced shared purpose and student voice.

Student voice and belonging

The 2025 student satisfaction survey (Years 5–12) recorded 74% agreement that students have real influence in shaping school culture and 71% that opinions are listened to and acted on. Leadership responded with student forum structures and continued investment in camps, excursions and campus learning environments.

Wellbeing and safety

Student safety and wellbeing remained a high-priority risk theme, with controls including child protection training, excursion protocols and wellbeing programmes. Restorative Practices professional learning was completed by staff. Whole-being governance structures progressed through Guardians committee work.

Responsible citizenship and community service

Community outreach included local business engagement, council event collaboration, vocational partnership development (RIEP), and exploration of responsible technology use — including dialogue around minimalist device alternatives aligned to national under-16 social media regulation.

Indigenous knowledge and culture

A strategic goal remains deepening integration of Indigenous knowledge, culture and wisdom. Ngulingah programme governance progressed with Board approval processes for Land Council agreement. Census 2025 recorded 46 Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander students (14.7%).

Behaviour and learning culture

Survey feedback identified behaviour consistency as a shared improvement theme across stakeholder groups. Leadership review in Term 4 2025 incorporated behaviour and wellbeing support into 2026 planning, alongside clearer academic reporting and communication protocols.

Theme 12School determined priority areas

Parent, teacher and student satisfaction

Living School reports aggregate satisfaction data from parent, staff and student surveys conducted in 2025. Results below are summarised to protect privacy — no individual responses, quotes or identifiable comments are published.

Executive summary

Parent feedback was exceptionally strong (Net Promoter Score approximately 90; ~95% would recommend the school). Staff reported very high professional pride and student relationships, with operational and resourcing themes emerging as improvement priorities. Students (Years 5–12, Middle School and Academy surveys) reported strong belonging and student voice (74% agree on influence in shaping school culture), with meaningful real-world learning and behaviour consistency as shared improvement themes.

Governance and strategic alignment

The August 2025 Strategy and Risk Review and November 2025 executive updates confirmed that sustaining parent advocacy requires addressing communication, staffing continuity, academic clarity and operational consistency — themes convergent across all three surveys.

Cross-survey alignment

Parents, staff and students consistently valued Living School's mission, relationships and experiential learning, while identifying communication, workforce continuity, resourcing, behaviour consistency and multi-campus operational systems as priorities for 2026.

School response

Leadership and the Guardians of Purpose reviewed all 2025 survey results in Term 4 2025. Actions underway or planned include improved communication protocols (internal alignment before external messaging), workforce retention initiatives, clearer academic reporting, student voice structures (including student forum), behaviour and wellbeing support, enrolment and website clarity, and continued investment in camps, excursions and campus learning environments. Full survey analyses are held on file for governance review.

Survey highlights

Parents recommend

~95%

Child enjoys school

96%+ agree

Staff professional pride

100% agree

Student voice

74% agree

Parents

MeasureResult
Survey periodOctober 2025
Responses59
Would recommend Living School~95%
Net Promoter Score~90
My child enjoys coming to school96%+ agree
My child feels known, cared for and has positive relationships with adults98%+ agree
Helps my child think creatively, critically and independently95%+ agree
Opportunities to learn in real-world contexts95%+ agree
Family values are respected and reflected90%+ agree
I feel welcome when visiting the school95%+ agree

Staff

MeasureResult
Survey periodSeptember 2025
Responses20
I believe I am a skilful worker100% agree
I'm proud to work at Living School100% agree
Staff have good relationships with students100% agree
I really throw myself into work95% agree
I feel confident performing my role90% agree
I find work fun90% agree
I am working towards goals that matter to me80% agree
I feel supported at work80% agree
I would recommend Living School as a place to work75% agree
There are opportunities for me to develop my role60% agree
My workload is manageable40% agree
There are opportunities to know how well I'm doing at work40% agree
I have enough resources to do my job35% agree
I have a voice in how things go at Living School35% agree
Information is shared effectively30% agree
Living School is well funded25% agree

Students (Years 5–12)

MeasureResult
Survey periodOctober 2025 (Middle School + Academy)
Responses123 (~64% of Years 5–12 census enrolment)
Overall agree rate (all survey items)67%
Students have real influence in shaping school culture74% agree
My opinions are listened to and acted on71% agree
What I'm learning will help me beyond school71% agree
I understand my strengths and how to use them69% agree
I feel challenged in ways that help me grow69% agree
Supported to manage stress and emotions68% agree
Moments that helped me grow in maturity68% agree
At least one adult knows me and supports me67% agree
Learning spaces help me focus and feel inspired67% agree
Opportunities to follow my interests67% agree
Teachers genuinely care about me66% agree
I feel comfortable being myself66% agree
I feel like I belong at Living School65% agree
I feel safe physically, emotionally and socially64% agree
Opportunities to explore passions and purpose64% agree
Teachers make learning interesting63% agree
Student behaviour supports a positive learning culture63% agree
School work feels meaningful and connected to the real world60% agree
Theme 13Financial information

Summary financial information

Living School (Living Schools Global Limited) reports summary financial information for the 2025 calendar year drawn from the school's audited financial statements. The school operates as a single entity across three campuses (Conway, SCU E-Block and SCU Z-Block). All figures below are consolidated for 2025 and reconcile to the income and expenditure charts accompanying this section.

Recurrent and capital income — total $11,277,374

  • Commonwealth recurrent grants: $5,659,866 (50.2%)
  • Fees and private income: $3,792,230 (33.6%)
  • State recurrent grants: $1,825,278 (16.2%)

Recurrent and capital expenditure — total $11,301,940

  • Employee salaries, allowances and benefits: $7,221,504 (63.9%)
  • Non-salary expense: $3,131,360 (27.7%)
  • Capital expenses: $949,076 (8.4%)

Recurrent operating expenditure (salaries and non-salary expenses) totalled $10,352,864, with capital investment of $949,076 supporting campus facilities and programme delivery.

Overall financial result

Total expenditure exceeded total income by $24,566 (0.2% of total income), reflecting continued investment in staffing, multi-campus operations and capital works during a year of enrolment growth to 313 students.

Student context (audited financial statements)

The audited accounts were prepared on a student enrolment base of 313 students, including 48 Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander students (15.3%). The 2025 NSW census reported 46 Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander students (14.7%); the census figure is the authoritative enrolment count for regulatory reporting.

Governance

Financial oversight is exercised by the Guardians of Purpose (Board). Audited financial statements are prepared in accordance with applicable accounting standards for non-government schools and held on file for the school community and regulators on request.

Add financial chart/table image URLs from audited statements. Source: Business Manager / Treasurer.

Living School Annual Report

Calendar year 2025

2025: the year of foundations, alignment and measured growth

Living School acknowledges we are all learning and growing together on Widjabul/Wyabal country of the Bundjalung Nation, and pays respect to Elders past, present and future.

“When you're curious, people make time for your questions. When you're kind, school feels like it belongs to all of us.”

A Living School student, 2025

June 2025

living.school · Living Schools Global Limited

Thank you